Volunteer

Volunteer page 1

“I love volunteering for Green Plate Special! GPS really values its volunteers, we are treated with respect and I love the way we are literally included at the table for the communal meal. Whether it’s taking care of the chickens, teaching youth in the garden or the kitchen, every moment is helping to – make a difference.”

– Debra Page, GPS Volunteer

“Thank you Maia! I really needed this refresher. It’s been a while since my volunteer training session and I’ve found myself forgetting the techniques you model and reverting to my own dictatorial style. I will definitely keep going back to these guidelines to try and relearn how best to communicate with youth(even my own)!”

– Rita, GPS Volunteer

 

Wednesday Gardening Hours 10AM-12PM

Do you have a love for gardening? Or would you like to learn more about urban gardening?

Come and join us for Gardening Hours on Wednesdays. Bring your enthusiasm, meet new people and help us turn this ¼ acre teaching-garden for youth into a food oasis again this growing season.

  • Planting, tending, and harvesting

  • Preparation for youth programming activities

  • Weeding, raking leaves, and watering

  • organizing greenhouse and tool shed inventory


Open to all volunteers (age 18 and up or accompanied by an adult) - no experience necessary.

If you have questions about Gardening Hours, please contact us at volunteer@greenplatespecial.org.

Sign up below...

Shift Time When Volunteer Training Name
Shift Time When Volunteer Training Name
Wednesday-August 22 August 22, 2018 #1: Sign up »
  #2: Sign up »
Wednesday-August 29 August 29, 2018 #1: Sign up »
  #2: Sign up »
Wednesday-Sep 5 September 5, 2018 #1: Sign up »
  #2: Sign up »
Wednesday-Sep 12 September 12, 2018 #1: Sign up »
  #2: Sign up »
Wednesday-Sep 19 September 19, 2018 #1: Sign up »
  #2: Sign up »
Wednesday-Sep 26 September 26, 2018 #1: Sign up »
  #2: Sign up »
Wednesday-Oct 3 October 3, 2018 #1: Sign up »
  #2: Sign up »
Wednesday-Oct 10 October 10, 2018 #1: Sign up »
  #2: Sign up »
Wednesday-Oct 17 October 17, 2018 #1: Sign up »
  #2: Sign up »
Wednesday-Oct 24 October 24, 2018 #1: Sign up »
  #2: Sign up »
Wednesday-Oct 31 October 31, 2018 #1: Sign up »
  #2: Sign up »
Wednesday-Nov 7 November 7, 2018 #1: Sign up »
  #2: Sign up »