Volunteer

Volunteer page 1“I love volunteering for Green Plate Special! GPS really values its volunteers, we are treated with respect and I love the way we are literally included at the table for the communal meal. Whether it’s taking care of the chickens, teaching youth in the garden or the kitchen, every moment is helping to make a difference.”

– Debra Page, GPS Volunteer

 

Weekend Chicken Care

Do you love caring for chickens? Or would you like to learn how to  care for chickens?

We keep a small flock of chickens at Green Plate Special as part of our youth programs – youth love to watch and feed the chickens, delight in finding eggs and chickens are excellent educators, too! And we use the eggs in the kitchen!

  • Saturday, Sunday, and holiday support

  • In the morning: let chickens out, feed them, and hang out with them a little - between 8 & 9AM

  • In the evening: return to put chickens back in coop - at dusk (5-7PM - depending on time of year)


Open to all volunteers (age 18 and up) - a one hour chicken care training is provided prior to your first volunteer date.

Sign up once a month or as often as you like.

If you have questions about chicken care, please contact us at volunteer@greenplatespecial.org.

Sign up below...

Shift Time When Volunteer Training Name
Shift Time When Volunteer Training Name
Saturday June 3, 2017 #1: Donna G.
Sunday June 4, 2017 #1: (empty) - sign-ups closed
Saturday June 10, 2017 #1: Julia P.
Sunday June 11, 2017 #1: AMANDA A.
Saturday June 17, 2017 #1: Nichole H.
Sunday June 18, 2017 #1: Kristin M.
Saturday June 24, 2017 #1: Julia P.
Sunday June 25, 2017 #1: (empty) - sign-ups closed
Saturday July 1, 2017 #1: Donna G.
Sunday July 2, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Monday - OFFICE CLOSED July 3, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Tuesday - INDEPENDENCE DAY July 4, 2017 #1: Michael K.
Saturday July 8, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Sunday July 9, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Saturday July 15, 2017 #1: Donna G.
Sunday July 16, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Saturday July 22, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Sunday July 23, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Saturday July 29, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Sunday July 30, 2017 #1: Sign up »