Volunteer

Volunteer page 1“I love volunteering for Green Plate Special! GPS really values its volunteers, we are treated with respect and I love the way we are literally included at the table for the communal meal. Whether it’s taking care of the chickens, teaching youth in the garden or the kitchen, every moment is helping to make a difference.”

– Debra Page, GPS Volunteer

 

Weekend Chicken Care

Do you love caring for chickens? Or would you like to learn how to  care for chickens?

We keep a small flock of chickens at Green Plate Special as part of our youth programs – youth love to watch and feed the chickens, delight in finding eggs and chickens are excellent educators, too! And we use the eggs in the kitchen!

  • Saturday, Sunday, and holiday support

  • In the morning: let chickens out, feed them, and hang out with them a little - between 8 & 9AM

  • In the evening: return to put chickens back in coop - at dusk (5-7PM - depending on time of year)


Open to all volunteers (age 18 and up) - a one hour chicken care training is provided prior to your first volunteer date.

Sign up once a month or as often as you like.

If you have questions about chicken care, please contact us at volunteer@greenplatespecial.org.

Sign up below...

Shift Time When Volunteer Training Name
Shift Time When Volunteer Training Name
Saturday-Dec 16 December 16, 2017 #1: Donna G.
Sunday-Dec 17 December 17, 2017 #1: Michael K.
Saturday-Dec 23 December 23, 2017 #1: Donna G.
Sunday-Dec 24 CHRISTMAS EVE December 24, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Monday-Dec 25 CHRISTMAS DAY December 25, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Tuesday-Dec 26 December 26, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Dec 30 December 30, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Sunday-Dec 31 NEW YEAR'S EVE December 31, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Monday-Jan 1 NEW YEAR'S DAY January 1, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Jan 6 January 6, 2018 #1: Donna G.
Sunday-Jan 7 January 7, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Jan 13 January 13, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Sunday-Jan 14 January 14, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Jan 20 January 20, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Sunday-Jan 21 January 21, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Jan 27 January 27, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Sunday-Jan 28 January 28, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Feb February 3, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Sunday-Feb February 4, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Feb February 10, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Sunday-Feb February 11, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Feb February 17, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Sunday-Feb February 18, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Monday-Feb 19 PRESIDENTS' DAY February 19, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Feb February 24, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Sunday-Feb February 25, 2018 #1: Sign up »