Volunteer

Volunteer page 1“I love volunteering for Green Plate Special! GPS really values its volunteers, we are treated with respect and I love the way we are literally included at the table for the communal meal. Whether it’s taking care of the chickens, teaching youth in the garden or the kitchen, every moment is helping to make a difference.”

– Debra Page, GPS Volunteer

 

Weekend Chicken Care

Do you love caring for chickens? Or would you like to learn how to  care for chickens?

We keep a small flock of chickens at Green Plate Special as part of our youth programs – youth love to watch and feed the chickens, delight in finding eggs and chickens are excellent educators, too! And we use the eggs in the kitchen!

  • Saturday, Sunday, and holiday support

  • In the morning: let chickens out, feed them, and hang out with them a little - between 8 & 9AM

  • In the evening: return to put chickens back in coop - at dusk (5-7PM - depending on time of year)


Open to all volunteers (age 18 and up) - a one hour chicken care training is provided prior to your first volunteer date.

Sign up once a month or as often as you like.

If you have questions about chicken care, please contact us at volunteer@greenplatespecial.org.

Sign up below...

Shift Time When Volunteer Training Name
Shift Time When Volunteer Training Name
Saturday-Oct 14 October 14, 2017 #1: Michael K.
Sunday-Oct 15 October 15, 2017 #1: (empty) - sign-ups closed
Saturday-Oct 21 October 21, 2017 #1: Bonnie B.
Sunday-Oct 22 October 22, 2017 #1: Justin S.
Saturday-Oct 28 October 28, 2017 #1: Donna G.
Sunday-Oct 29 October 29, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Nov 4 November 4, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Sunday-Nov 5 November 5, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Friday-Nov 10 November 10, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Nov 11 VETERANS DAY November 11, 2017 #1: Donna G.
Sunday-Nov 12 November 12, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Nov 18 November 18, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Sunday-Nov 19 November 19, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Thu-Nov 23 THANKSGIVING November 23, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Fri-Nov 24 BLACK FRIDAY November 24, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Nov 25 November 25, 2017 #1: Donna G.
Sunday-Nov 26 November 26, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Dec 2 December 2, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Sunday-Dec 3 December 3, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Dec 9 December 9, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Sunday-Dec 10 December 10, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Dec 16 December 16, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Sunday-Dec 17 December 17, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Dec 23 December 23, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Sunday-Dec 24 CHRISTMAS EVE December 24, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Monday-Dec 25 CHRISTMAS DAY December 25, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Tuesday-Dec 26 December 26, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Dec 30 December 30, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Sunday-Dec 31 NEW YEAR'S EVE December 31, 2017 #1: Sign up »
Monday-Jan 1 NEW YEAR'S DAY January 1, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Saturday-Jan 6 January 6, 2018 #1: Sign up »
Sunday-Jan 7 January 7, 2018 #1: Sign up »