Meet our Youth Interns: Sorchia

5 Aug

Hello, I am Sorchia. I am 12 years old and love to cook as well as garden. I am so excited to be working with Green Plate Special this summer. I cannot wait to learn all about farming, buying and selling, and small businesses. I am so thankful for this opportunity and for all that GPS does.

I have spent most of my life in Germany, I lived in Munich for five years, and Berlin for three. My family and I moved back to Seattle almost three years ago. I remember that the first time I cooked anything was when I was 4. My dad was making tacos, and asked me to cook the meat. I got up on the stool and he told me to mix it around and kind of slap it with the spatula. I started violently beating it and grease flew everywhere! It is one of my fondest and first memories of Munich, and I will never forget it.

Right now I am going into 7th grade. I really want to learn more about gardening and business- owning and that is what I hope to accomplish though this internship. I am so excited to make new friends, meet new people, learn new things, and garden. I cannot wait to do it!

I hope to accomplish all my goals for this summer and then finish 7th grade with straight A’s. Through high-school, I would like to work at a restaurant or bakery and go to a good college. Eventually I would like to become a great chef with my own restaurant/farm. No matter what I do, or where I go, or what I learn, the number one thing I must be is happy. If I am not happy with life, that is the only way I will have failed.